Milwaukee Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Claims
Hit by an Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist? We Can Help!
Wisconsin law mandates that all licensed drivers must carry minimum liability auto insurance. However, for a variety of reasons, some motorists choose not to carry any auto insurance at all. If you are hit by an uninsured motorist or if the other driver only has the minimum liability coverage, you may not be able to secure compensation for all of your damages through the at-fault driver’s auto insurance policy.
That’s where your uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage comes in. By law, you must carry UM insurance in Wisconsin; you may also opt to add UIM coverage to your policy. If you are not sure what coverage you have or if you are not sure how to get started with your claim, contact Dunk Law Firm to speak to one of our Milwaukee uninsured/underinsured motorist attorneys about your case.
Understanding Your Uninsured Motorist Coverage
Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is mandatory in the state of Wisconsin. This coverage protects you in the event you are hit by an uninsured driver or involved in a hit and run accident.
In Wisconsin, you must have the following UM coverage:
- Minimum $25,000 per person in bodily injury
- Minimum $50,000 per accident in bodily injury
Uninsured motorist coverage only covers bodily injury; it does not cover property/vehicle damage. Additionally, while the above coverage amounts are the minimum required by law, you may elect to add additional UM coverage to your policy.
What Is Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Unlike UM coverage, underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage is not mandatory in Wisconsin. However, it’s wise to consider adding UIM coverage to your policy, as it protects you in the event you are hit by a motorist who only has the minimum liability coverage.
What is the minimum liability coverage in Wisconsin?
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury/death
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury/death
- $10,000 for property damage
Say you are hit by a distracted driver and suffer severe spinal cord injuries. Meanwhile, a passenger in your vehicle suffers multiple fractures, bruising, and whiplash. Your vehicle is completely totaled as a result of the accident. Even if the combined cost of your and your passenger’s medical bills and lost wages is more than $50,000 and the value of your car was greater than $10,000, you will not be able to recover more than the aforementioned coverage from the at-fault driver if he only has minimum liability coverage.
At this point, you could turn to your own auto insurance policy for additional compensation. If you have elected to add UIM coverage, you can use this coverage to make up the difference. If you do choose to have UIM coverage, you must carry a minimum of $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident in bodily injury coverage.
Providing Knowledgeable Legal Guidance Since 2004
Navigating the process of filing a UM or UIM claim after a car accident can be confusing, time-consuming, and stressful. Our Milwaukee uninsured/underinsured motorist claims attorneys can help you understand your auto insurance policy and what coverage is available to you. Depending on the circumstances of your accident, we may also be able to look at additional potential sources of compensation.
Our highly experienced and knowledgeable lawyers are here to assist you at every stage of the process. We believe your focus should be on healing and moving forward with your life; let us handle the legal aspects of your personal injury case and fight for the full, fair compensation you are owed.
If you have lost a loved one in a serious car accident, our firm can help you obtain justice by pursuing a wrongful death claim against the responsible party.
Extensive & Detailed Jury Research
Track Record Of Success
Personalized Attention & Care
Millions Recovered For Our Clients