In 2020, 7,272 car accidents in Tennessee were caused by drivers impaired by alcohol or drugs. As a result of those crashes, 4,604 people were injured, and 435 people were killed. Nationwide, 30 Americans are killed by drunk drivers every single day.
If you or someone you love was involved in an accident with a drunk driver, Tennessee personal injury practice Dunk Law Firm can help. We believe that there is never an excuse for getting behind the wheel after consuming drugs or alcohol. Our Memphis drunk driving accident attorneys will help you hold the at fault motorist responsible for their actions. We will also assist you in obtaining financial compensation for your medical bills, lost income, and pain and suffering.
In Tennessee, the legal limit is a blood alcohol content )BAC) of 0.08%. If a motorist tests for this or above, they are considered driving under the influence.
For people under the legal drinking age of 21, the state has a "zero tolerance" policy. This means that if someone under 21 has a BAC of 0.02% or more while driving, they can be charged with a DUI—even if they aren’t actually drunk.
Tennessee has strict penalties in place for offenders. First offenders face mandatory jail time of at least 48 hours—if your BAC is 0.20% or higher, the minimum is 7 days. The maximum penalty is up to 11 months and 29 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,500. Your license can be revoked for a full year and you must attend an alcohol and drug treatment program.
Learn more about local DUI laws and penalties on the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security website here.
Drunk driving accidents are often incredibly devastating; sadly, this tends to be especially the case for those affected who were not drinking and driving. Victims are often left with catastrophic or even fatal injuries. Extensive medical treatment and lifelong care may be necessary for those who suffer disabilities and/or disfigurement. This can be exorbitantly expensive, as well as painful and traumatic, for victims and their families, which ids why fighting for the maximum compensation is so important.
If you were injured in an accident caused by a drunk or drugged driver in Tennessee, you could be entitled to compensation for one or more of the following in damages:
In event a close family member of yours was killed in a drunk driving accident, you may be able to recover compensation for the following wrongful death damages:
Victims of DUI accidents may also be entitled to punitive damages in some cases. Punitive damages punish the liable party for gross negligence, such as drinking and driving.
While it is impossible to determine how much compensation you are eligible for without knowing the specific details of your case, an attorney can help you estimate what you may be owed during a free consultation.
Drunk driving accidents can initiate both criminal and civil cases, so prepare to potentially become involved in both. As a personal injury firm, we handle civil claims. This means that if you file a drunk driving accident lawsuit, the liable party will be punished by having to pay compensation rather than face criminal penalties, such as jail time or traffic fines. The drunk driver may also face criminal charges, but that won’t necessarily influence the outcome of your civil case.
Our drunk driving accident attorneys understand this complex legal process, as we all how overwhelming and stressful this time is for you and your family. We will navigate the legal process and fight for the justice you deserve on your behalf, allowing you to focus primarily on your recovery.