At Dunk Law Firm, we truly care about each and every one of our clients. We know that being involved in an unexpected accident or losing a loved one in a tragic incident is overwhelming. We're here to help.MEET THE TEAMcontact us
Car accidents caused by texting and driving have only increased over the years as an unfortunate side effect of technological advancements. Millions of Americans now have smartphones they can use to text their friends and family members whenever they want – including while driving. Though this is a widespread issue, Tennessee has often been cited as one of the worst states in terms of distracted driving-related fatalities, though the state banned handheld cell phone usage in 2019. If you or a loved one has been injured by a negligent driver in a car accident, Dunk Law Firm can help you seek justice. When you file a personal injury claim, you may be eligible to receive compensation for your damages, which can include everything from medical bills to pain and suffering. Our texting and driving accident lawyers in Memphis can collect evidence, establish liability, and protect your rights so you can recover and move on from this traumatizing event in your life.
Any driving that involves a driver taking their eyes off the road for even just a few seconds is considered distracted driving, and these days texting is perhaps the most common type of distraction. The amount of time it takes you to look at your phone and fire back a text is enough to prevent you from braking for a slowed driver or swerving out of the way, resulting in an accident that you could have easily avoided.
In Tennessee, cell phone usage is banned, along with a variety of other things that count as distracted driving. The following is currently prohibited in the state:
It’s also illegal for drivers with learner’s permits or intermediate driver’s licenses and all under the age of 18 to use any cell phone at all, including hands-free devices. Currently, distracted driving causes around 460 deaths a year in Tennessee – five times the national average.
In addition to facing personal injury claims, drivers who have violated distracted driving laws can also receive penalties, as the violation is considered a Class C misdemeanor. For first and second-time offenses, the maximum fine is $50, while additional offenses can result in fines up to $100. Those who violate the law while driving in school, work, or construction zones may be fined up to $200.
Texting while driving is an especially dangerous form of distracted driving because it involves three different types of impairments: visual, manual, and cognitive distractions. Drivers are visually distracted when they look at their phones, preventing them from seeing what is happening in front of and around them. Manually, they often have to remove one or both hands from the wheel in order to hold their phones or text, and cognitively, their minds aren’t even entirely focused on the task at hand.
All of this can create dangers for themselves and others on the road, and it’s no surprise to learn that texting while driving contributes to many rear-end collisions.
If you were injured, you need to prove that the at-fault driver was negligent and that their negligence directly caused your damages. Our attorneys can handle every aspect of your claim, from investigating the scene of your accident to securing a copy of the crash report and any witness testimonies available.
Some of the evidence our team looks out for includes:
We can also help you calculate how much your damages are worth to ensure you aren’t compensated for any less than what you deserve. At our firm, our lawyers strive to be thorough in all that we do, from evidence-gathering to claim filing. We can also communicate with the insurance company so there is no way they can turn your words against you. At Dunk Law Firm, our attorneys care about each and every one of our clients and their futures.